Saigon Saigon

I had huge cravings for Vietnamese food today. Normally I love going to MeMe on Fulham Broadway but I felt like trying somewhere new today. Time Out gave Saigon Saigon five stars so I thought I’d give it a shot. It’s a stone’s throw away from Ravenscourt Park tube station.

I arrived after lunchtime, so it was on the empty side, which suited me fine, and I went for veggie spring rolls and prawn crackers to start and a beef pho.

20151228_135832 20151228_140842

God it was good. The prawn crackers tasted a bit too prawny – I’m too used to the really really processed ones that don’t really taste of anything other than fried cracker – but then the waiter passed me some sriracha, which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment. I’m sure I’m preaching to the converted here, but is there any savoury dish that sriracha doesn’t go with?

The veggie spring rolls were amazing. I was a little skeptical at first because they looked slightly greasy on the outside, but then again, I did ask for the fried ones, so I don’t know what I was expecting! They were filled with tofu, mushroom and vermicelli inside, which tasted amazing with the soy sauce. There were also some cheeky pickles on the side hidden in the salad which worked really well with the crispy greasiness of the rolls. Deelish.

I was actually getting quite full by the time the pho arrived because I hadn’t expected to get so many prawn crackers (and I had eaten them all). The pho was fragrant and had bits of black pepper and half a leek floating in it, which made me think I was going to love it. I tipped in a bit of sriracha along with some basil, beansprouts, onion, chilli and a squeeze of lime (which come with the soup on the side).

It was so good! I think Vietnamese food might be my favourite kind of East Asian food. It’s so fresh and full of flavour. Every time I have it it makes me full and very very happy. So if you’re ever in West London and fancy some Vietnamese, I’d definitely recommend it.

 

Leave a Reply

